Uncategorized

Something Has Got To Give

I’ve been having a difficult time lately with work. I didn’t want to work in kitchens anymore, but got another job in one because the pay seemed good and the tips were great… Now I’m starting to regret my new acceptance of this job because there’s a particular culture around working in a kitchen that leaves it almost impossible to leave work at work. I really don’t want to get into the whole kitchen dynamic that the entire food industry has, so I will move on.

Right now, I want to talk about my other duties that I’d rather be working on that I now can’t because I’m tied to this job. This is everything that I do and is on my mind at all times:

4 days of work: 8-10 hours per day
5 days a week of class: no time for office hours or deep studying
5 books currently being read (not including textbooks for school)
17 podcasts I keep up with weekly
1 podcast developing: this will include hours of research, recording time, editing, and PR where we are trying to plan on becoming an actual production company where others will use our servers and equipment for their own podcasts
1 web series being written
1 novel I’m continuously brainstorming/studying for
1 blog (not that successful but still,  it’s for personal creativity)
1 short film I agreed to play a short part in

Not even needing to mention the fact that I don’t really hang out with my boyfriend, friends, or family. I also don’t really have time to start any new shows or games.

So after struggling for a few weeks, I’ve come to the conclusion that work is going to have to give and I’m now being given a bit of a hard time from the other kitchen girl. Love her to death, but she keeps trying to make it seem like they won’t let me reduce my schedule because I’m needed for these times, but they told me when I first started that I can work when I want.

So I’m definitely going to try to work this out with them, but if things don’t begin to change, I will have to look somewhere else. I really like these people so I hope it doesn’t come to that, but I’m simply too busy. I like the stability and dependability of my job, but I’d much rather be a contract worker through Uber, Lyft, Favors, or do jobs through Care as they come (only issue with this is it will be a few more months before I can get a car).

Does anyone have any advice or words of wisdom that can help me with this endeavor? The podcasts I listen to have helped, because I can hear how people I look up to started and where they were at my age, but it’s still difficult to stay motivated and not just give up on all my personal projects and dreams just to make money and get my coworkers to like me.

Another Commoner

Leave a Reply

