Uncategorized

Getting In Touch With Friends Without Facebook

This is going to sound like an advertisement for a second, but it’s really not. It’s just an observation about the world we live in with Facebook. I have become a slave to Facebook. Many of the people online bother me, but I still use it because it’s one of the easiest ways to stay in contact with friends and family. Knowing someone’s personal number or address isn’t as permanent as having them as a friend on Facebook (unless you decide to delete them). I mean, our presence on Facebook is more permanent.

If you become friends with someone at school, work, or a party, it’s much easier to get in contact if you forgot to exchange numbers. You just look them up on Facebook and then you can message them personally. You’re able to see each other’s interactions online and learn more of who this person is in a shorter period of time. You meet someone new and you already know what their hobbies are and what they do in their free time.

There is now a place where someone can always be reached. Their Facebook will most likely never change. You’ll know right away if someone can’t respond because their phone is broken or they got a new one. You’ll know right away if someone is moving away or is in the hospital. You know these things instead of being left without knowing. It stops you from accidentally calling and texting the wrong number for weeks trying to get into contact with someone.

Something I’m dealing with right now is the hunt for someone when they don’t have a Facebook for backup contact. I have a friend who refuses to get a Facebook, and that’s fine, but he hasn’t texted me back for a few days and now I’m wondering if something happened to him. Instead of being able to message him or look on his profile to see when he last posted, I’m literally left in the dark. I’m sure he likes it that way because you feel that you are off of the grid, but I never realized how different it feels when you always know what your friends are up to versus having absolutely no idea what happened to them.

Now I have to investigate or let it go and hope I see him again one day. I know we’re friends, but when left hanging, I don’t really know what to do or where we stand. Do I go up to his job and ask him personally? No, that’s weird. Do I ask around and see if anything weird is going on with his phone or if he just blew me off? Kind of a burden on everyone else. I’m kinda stuck just wondering for a week if it’s a yes or no to my question. It would all be so much easier to message on Facebook and see what the response would be. But it’s also weird that I depend on it so much.

It’s interesting to think about how much this connection with everyone has changed our lives. It used to be so much harder to connect with other people and every interaction was personal because it was either in person, over the phone, or over text. Nothing was mass communicated to everyone you knew.

Do you feel that Facebook has made things easier? Do you like or dislike the idea of always being connected to everyone?

2 thoughts on “Getting In Touch With Friends Without Facebook

  1. Facebook has made things easier to the point we take friends for granted. I to have done exactly this not giving friends the time of day because of what I would call a busy schedule. I do not like that it allows you to ignore what you want and engage what you wish. Sorry you cannot contact your friend and hope you get some answers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

